top of page
AUNZ 2023 Women's World Cup

Fan World Cup

Sydney | UNSW David Phillips Sport Field

August 19, 2023

8v8 format, mixed gender, maximum 4 male players per team on the pitch at a time

And Australia is the winner of the Fan World Cup 2023! Aussie Supporteroos have won the Fan World Cup 2023, beating the Americas 4-2 in a dramatic penalty shootout.


On the road to the final, Aussie Supporteroos lost to the Americas 3-1 in the first match, beat Morocco 3-0 and avenged the Matildas, beating England 3-1.

Morocco beat England 3-2 in a very exciting 3rd place match but England won the Spirit of the Cup award for their fantastic sportsmanship and awesome cheering, as well as providing a referee and a commentator for the final.


Special thanks to Kin-Wai Yuen, a FIFA-accredited photographer, for capturing the special memories of the Fan World Cup 2023 for us (Instagram: @bigpanda_kin /

Check out his photo gallery about our tournament.

20230819 Fan World Cup SD 167.jpg
Aussie Supporteroos v Canadian Supporters
Supporteroos v Canada+.jpg

Our Canadian friends were a bit short on numbers, so we decided to join forces and create an International team of Canadians, Aussies, Singaporeans, a Malaysian, a Chilean and a Russian and played against a Melbourne University social football team. Big thanks to Melbourne Business School for sponsoring our game. [Match report] [Photo gallery]

Aussie Supporteroos v Nigerian Supporters
20230727 Australia v Nigeria 028.jpg

There could not have been a more exciting curtain-raiser to tonight's clash between Matildas and the Super Falcons than the friendly match between Aussie Supporteroos and Nigerian Football Club Brisbane. The match finished in a 6-6 draw and both teams and spectators enjoyed a BBQ put on by the very generous hosts West End Football Club. [Match report] [Photo gallery]

Aussie Supporteroos v Irish Supporters
20230720 Aussie Supporteroos-98.jpg

In their first official WWC friendly on Wednesday, 19 July, Supporteroos claimed their first win of the AUNZ 2023 campaign, beating Irish supporters 3:2. The match was played at the home of Lidcombe Warratahs who were gracious hosts and treated the visitors to a BBQ. [Read more] [Photo gallery]

Mike Cockerill Cup

Aussie Supporteroos claimed the inaugural Mike Cockerill Cup, a pre-WWC fan friendly named after a legendary Australian football writer Mike Cockerill who has made an invaluable contribution to football reporting and culture. [Read more]

bottom of page